top of page

Virtual ATRA Annual General Meeting 2021

The ASEAN Tourism Research Association Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held successfully on Tuesday, 16th March 2021, virtually at Taylor's University Lakeside Campus, Subang Jaya, Selangor Malaysia, via Zoom online platform due to the restriction movement order in the country. The meeting was called to order at 10.05 am after establishing that the quorum had been met, with the attendance of over two-thirds of the members. The President welcomed the members to the meeting that was the second AGM conducted online and the first online election of the new board for the year 2021- 2022.

The President thanked Board members and ordinary members, and new members for their contribution and support. As a research-based association, ATRA created value for others who have benefited from these activities. The last two years had been challenging, especially for those involved in hospitality, tourism and event organizers. The President also thanked all the Board members who were elected two years ago for supporting the agenda and ordinary members for their contribution, directly or indirectly over the years.

The current Board of Directors of the Year 2019-2020 dissolved upon completion of two years of service. The election was to elect a new Board of Directors for the 2021-2022 period. Members unanimously agreed to the proposed names for the various board positions. The newly elected board were:

President: Prof. Dr. Neethiahnanthan A.R., Taylor's University, Malaysia

Vice-President: Asst. Prof. Dr. Pornpisanu Promsivapallop, Prince of Songkla University, Thailand

Secretary-General: Prof. Datuk Seri Dr. Victor Wee, Taylor's University, Malaysia

Honorary-Treasurer: Dr. Puvaneswaran Kunasekaran, Taylor's University, Malaysia

Board of Directors:

  • Dr. Conrado E. Inigo, Jr, University Of The Visayas, Philippines

  • Ms. Xialeemar Valdeavilla, Rx International Events And Marketing Consultancy Co., Philippines

  • Assoc. Prof. Dr. Devi Kausar, University Of Pancasila, Indonesia

  • Dr. Jenny Panchal, James Cook University, Singapore

  • Mr. Agus Riyadi, Trisakti Institute of Tourism, Indonesia

  • Mr. Le Minh Phuong, Hoasen University, Vietnam

The President also thanked all the Board members and ordinary members for the successful organization and hosting of the 8th ATRA Tourism Forum on the topic "Future Tourism in ASEAN: Challenges and Opportunities" held on 15th March 2021. More than 100 participants attended the forum based on a timely topic about the new tourism hurdles within the ASEAN region due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The President and the members expressed their special appreciation to the ATRA Secretariat led by Ms. Amar Preet Kaur for being instrumental in the association's progress.


bottom of page